Lori’s Lick ‘Em Up celebrates 10 years in Macomb!

I opened Lori’s Lick ‘Em Up Ice Cream 10 years ago on Aug. 23. It was a dream of mine, since childhood, to one day open an ice cream store. I was 12 years old when I said to my dad, “One day, I am going to own an ice cream store, and I am going to call it Lick ‘Em Up!”

DSC_0100Dad and I always spoke of my ice cream store over the years. I even got a shake machine as a Christmas gift one year (used of course!). A building became available to me in 2004. I remember my dad coming to me and telling me of the building and saying, “Are you ready?” I told dad, “Yes! I’m ready!”

After all the cleaning and preparing, on Aug. 23, 2004 I opened. It was very exciting, but also very slow, as not many people had heard of me. Over the years, we have grown to be known as one of the best ice cream stores in Macomb County. We have over 500 different selections of ice cream treats!

It has been a wonderful journey, and I have been blessed with many wonderful customers, friends and neighbors. We have had people come as far as Clarkston to visit Lori’s. I also think God had his hand in the fact that our 10-year anniversary falls on a Saturday.

So in appreciation of all of the support I have had from my customers and community, I have arranged a wonderful “Thank You” party! Everyone is welcome to join us on Saturday, Aug. 23 at Lori’s Lick ‘Em Up located at 35610 Jefferson Avenue in Harrison Township. We open at 11 a.m. and have a wonderful day planned.

The following is the itinerary:

Noon – 4 p.m. – Clowns, balloons and face painting

1 p.m. – 3 p.m. – Harrison Township fire truck and firemen

3 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. – CJ the DJ

4 p.m. – 6 p.m. – Caricatures by Goofy Faces

DSC_0082I will be giving away gift baskets, five-pound banana splits, shirts and hats every hour.

Volunteers in ice cream cone and sundae costumes will pose for pictures with customers as well. Olaf from Frozen will be here all day. There will also be a company videotaping for showing on the local cable stations.

As you can see, I really want my customers to have a wonderful celebration with us. We wanted to do something to show how Thankful we are for each and every one of them!

Lori A. Neff is the owner of Lori’s Lick ‘Em Up Ice Cream on Jefferson Avenue in Harrison Township.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

