Outstanding Teen Looks to Impact the Community Through Service

My name is Vanessa Chambe and I am the current Miss Michigan’s Outstanding Teen. About four years ago I started competing in pageants within the Miss America Organization. By no means was I a typical pageant girl; I was very shy and lacked quite a bit of confidence in myself. Shyness was always an obstacle I aspired to overcome, but just did not know how to do so. Being a part of the Miss America Organization has helped me become someone I never thought I could be. When I first started in the program, public speaking was one of my biggest fears.  Now, four years later, I’m hoping to major in communications in college. This organization has pushed me outside of my comfort zone and has transformed me into the confident young lady standing here today.

MiTeenAbout one month ago I was crowned Miss Michigan’s Outstanding Teen. During competition, I competed in five phases; private interview, fitness, talent, evening wear, and onstage question. Knowing this was my last year eligible to compete in the outstanding teen competition, I wanted to make sure I walked off that stage knowing I had done my very best. Winning that night had truly proven to me that you can accomplish anything you put your mind to, no matter the obstacles you encounter along the way. Now, as Miss Michigan’s Outstanding Teen I will be travelling the state promoting my own personal platform, “Girl Scouts: Building Confidence and Character Through Service,” attending community events and volunteering, and travelling to Orlando, Florida in less than two weeks to compete for the title of Miss America’s Outstanding Teen. I am so grateful to be able to have this opportunity, representing the state that I love.

Along with being Miss Michigan’s Outstanding Teen, I have many other responsibilities entering my senior year of high school. This next year is going to be very busy for me as I am also the class president, a student representative on the school board, and a National Honor Society member. Although it will be busy, I am really looking forward to it. If it were not for the Miss America Organization though, I would not be in these types of positions today. The Miss America Organization has shaped my life for the better and has proven to me that if you believe in yourself, anything is possible.

About the Author: Macomb County’s Vanessa Chambe, a Lakeshore High School student in St. Clair Shores, recently was crowned Miss Michigan’s Outstanding Teen. She will compete in Orlando July 28th through August 1st to be Miss America’s Outstanding Teen.  For the next year, she will promote her platform, “Girl Scouts: Building Confidence and Character Through Service.”

Vanessa is seeking online votes to determine one contestant as America’s Choice, which would guarantee a spot as a Semi-Finalist and a $2,000 scholarship. To vote, visit https://fourpointsmagazine.com/maoteen-americas-choice (scroll down to Michigan)
This entry was posted in mmyh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

