Why Jazzercise?

I was tired.  Tired of my clothes getting too tight (I REALLY didn’t want to make the jump up to the third size since my gradual weight gain had begun).  Tired of not feeling well (daily heartburn, migraines… always tired).  I had to make a change in my life.

I still remember getting home from an awesome family vacation in Florida.  It was April 2008.  I said to myself, “Either lose weight or start shopping for larger clothes!”  I chose the former.  I contacted my mom over the weekend and asked her to join Weight Watchers with me.  You see, I had NO idea how to eat healthy and I needed help or nothing was going to change.  We headed to Weight Watchers on Monday and our weight loss and road to healthy living began.

I thought it was going to be hard – really hard!  I am not here to say that weight loss is easy, but I am a very regimented person (one might call me “OCD”) and I followed the plan…and the weight came off – 5 lbs the first week!  2.5 lbs the second week…and then the normal of approximately 1 lb per week, but I stuck with it!  Before I knew it, I was down 15 lbs.  I was feeling so much better.  Heartburn and migraines – virtually gone.  Oh, and I didn’t feel deprived at all – I was eating yummy food.  I started to LOVE fruits and veggies…dare I say I started to CRAVE them?!

As with any weight loss program, Weight Watchers stresses the importance of physical activity.  I had always wanted to be a person who exercised…I tried home videos, gym memberships, group fitness classes.  And I was successful…for about 3 weeks at a time with looooong stretches in between of being unsuccessful!

It was spring/summer in Michigan at the beginning of my weight loss journey.  I got on my bike and rode almost every day.  I LOVED it!  My leg muscles were developing really nicely and I was sweating (sweat, me?!  Not something I’ve ever enjoyed in the past!)  But I knew a Michigan winter would be upon me soon.  There is no way you are getting me on a bike outside during a Michigan winter!!!

I was having success on the elliptical machine in my basement.  Did you know one episode of the Ellen show on the DVR is about 40 minutes (the perfect amount of cardio) when you fast forward through commercials?!?!  I added in floor exercises as well to work on my abs and arms.  But I know from my past habits, and even though I was determined to keep the weight off, I could see me getting bored with my fitness.

Jazzercise Studio

Jazzercise is located at 273 N. Groesbeck in Mount Clemens. Contact Lisa at 586-370-5299 or jazzercisemtclemens@gmail.com

And then I saw it…an ad in my local paper.  A new fitness studio was opening and they were offering a FREE class!  FREE?!?!  I’m all about that!  A phone call went out to my mom again.  I told her there was a brand new class starting up called “Jazzercise”.  I’d never heard of it, but heck, it was FREE!  (I later found out Jazzercise has been around 46 years – truly the original dance fitness!)

I can still remember walking in to that first class.  I was nervous.  Looking back, I don’t know why, but I was.  I’ve now come to find out that Jazzercise studios contain the friendliest people on earth!  The instructor turned on the music and the rest is a blur.  What I do remember is my limbs were flying all over the place and I was smiling and laughing.  I was having FUN while I was exercising.  I had never used the words “fun” and “exercise” in the same sentence…until that first Jazzercise class!

The class flew by.  After class I asked the instructor what else she did to get such an amazing body.  I mean those ARM muscles – they couldn’t have come form Jazzercise alone.  She must “pump iron’ at the gym.  Her response – “I walk my dog”.   I walked out and I remember saying to my mom “What was that and sign me up!”  (Guess what – I have those arm muscles now, too!)

We signed up and we went to class…A LOT… about 5 times per week.  Honestly, I couldn’t get enough.  I had always heard “Exercise will give you energy”.  Yeah right!  Exercise is exhausting!  Well, I’ve come to find out it’s true!  I have unbelievable amounts of energy…and I’m happy!  On the days I don’t get to Jazzercise, I find myself a bit cranky!  I guess that whole “endorphin thing” is true, too!

A few years went by and I thought about becoming an instructor.  Although this is something that is completely out of my comfort zone, I decided to go for it.  I am SO glad I did.  I can honestly say it is the most fun I’ve ever had at a job.  It’s really hard to even call it a “job” because it is so much fun!

Once I got certified, the Mt. Clemens Ice Arena was kind enough to rent space to me for 3 ½ years.  I started with three classes per week (and my mom as my class manager).  Over the years, we have grown to a team of six instructors and 20 classes per week.

A few months ago, a space opened up right across the street from the ice arena in the former Armed Forces building.  It seemed like the right time and place to make a move into our own studio.  We offer morning, evening and weekend classes with babysitting available M/W/F at 9:30 a.m.

There’s a reason Jazzercise has remained successful for 46 years and continues to grow – the program has evolved throughout its nearly five decades.  Our classes include Dance Mixx (no dance experience needed), Strike (think kick boxing), Core (works those ab muscles), Strength (a full class dedicated to strength training), interval and fusion (mixes cardio and strength training for maximum fat burn).  Our customers range in age from teens all the way into their 70’s.  Although it’s a group fitness class, everyone works at their own pace.  These are all the reasons I chose Jazzercise 7 years ago and still love it to this day!

We absolutely love our new studio and YOU can try a class free by clicking here:  http://local.jazzercise.com/jazzercise-mt-clemens-studio/Mt-Clemens-MI/  Come and see what got me hooked all those years ago!

Our Grand Opening celebration will be held Saturday, August 15th.  This event is free to the public and will include:

~8:20 a.m. – Strength 60 Class

~9:30  a.m. – Dance Mixx Class

~10:30 a.m. – Refreshments Served

~10:45 – Ribbon Cutting

~11:00 a.m. – Strike Class

~11:40 a.m. – Raffle Prize Drawing

Come for one or more…or ALL of the events!  We’re looking forward to a great day of fun and fitness at our new studio!

**New customers please arrive 15 minutes before class and bring hand held weights. 

**New customer offer – Start for $0 (no joining fee and the rest of August AND September FREE) with minimum 6 month sign up.

 

About the Author: Lisa Michalik is the owner of Jazzercise studio in Mount Clemens, located at 273 N. Groesbeck.  Questions can be directed to Lisa at 586-370-5299 or jazzercisemtclemens@gmail.com

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

