How does your garden grow? (and where to get answers to other gardening questions)

Arbor-Day-plant-sale-flyerMacomb County is excited to announce the Spring 2017 Tree, Shrub and Plant Sale this weekend, a new collaboration between Green Macomb and the Sanilac/St. Clair Conservation District. The spring sale provides an opportunity for the public to purchase young trees, fruit trees, flowering shrubs, wildflower seed and other fruits and vegetables at the most reasonable prices you can find.

This is exciting, but what if you’re a gardening newbie?! Or even if you are well seasoned, you might still have questions. But not to worry. Did you know Michigan State University Extension has the information available to help you via its Garden Hotline?

To give you an idea, the top 10 questions from the Gardening Hotline in 2016 were:

  1. How do I get a soil test done, and what will it tell me?
  2. What’s wrong with my lawn?
  3. My maple tree has a problem, can you tell me what to do?
  4. How do I get rid of bees/wasps in my yard?
  5. What do I do to control Japanese beetles?
  6. When can I prune my oak tree?
  7. What’s the problem with my spruce tree?
  8. When do I prune my roses?
  9. How do I care for an apple tree?
  10. How do I get rid of fungus gnats in my house plants?

Master Gardeners are at the MSUE office on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays to help answer questions and take hotline calls. The number is (888) MSUE-4MI or (888) 678-3464.

Other locations you can find Master Gardeners:

  • Spring 2017 Tree, Shrub and Plant Sale from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Friday, April 28 and from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturday, April 29 at Freedom Hill County Park.
  • Master Gardeners have an information booth at the Mount Clemens Farmers Market every Saturday the market is open (May – November).
  • June 3 from 9 a.m. to noon is the Annual Plant Exchange at the VerKuilen Building. Master Gardeners are there to answer questions. (Everyone is welcome, they don’t have to have a plant to exchange)
  • July 14 – 16 there will be a Master Gardener booth at the Lavender Festival held at Blake’s Orchard and Cider Mill.

    Mary Gerstenberger is a consumer horticulture coordinator for Macomb County’s Michigan State University Extension.

Gardening blog

This entry was posted in entertainment, events, flowers, gardening, Green Macomb, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

