Music to your ears at Freedom Hill this summer!

FHWhen I was 11 years old, I became obsessed with a country singer named Sara Evans. Her biggest hit, “Born To Fly,” became the soundtrack to my entire life. I would carry my portable CD player with me everywhere – around the house, in the car, in the grocery store, on the playground – and sing that song on an endless loop.

And then, something magical happened. I found out Sara Evans was going to be performing at Freedom Hill.

My parents, having patiently endured my singing for several weeks, knew I would be over the moon if I got to see my hero live. When they told me they bought us tickets for the concert, I nearly cried.

The day finally arrived, and sure enough, I was ecstatic. I remember the feeling of awe that overtook me when I saw just how big the stage was, and how many seats there were. Other concertgoers bustled around, chatting away happily, while my family laid out our picnic blanket on the lawn. I still cherish the flashing necklace I bought at the souvenir stand that day, and the memory of sitting on my dad’s shoulders, swaying to the music that had so deeply moved my 11-year-old soul. The experience left me utterly star struck and, to this day, the memory of that concert holds a special place in my heart.

Since then, the Michigan Lottery Amphitheatre at Freedom Hill has become a frequent destination for me and my family. Every year, their concert lineup becomes more and more star-studded and this year is no exception. This summer, the venue will host such celebrities as Niall Horan (of One Direction fame), Hank Williams Jr., Lynyrd Skynyrd, Young the Giant, Mary J. Blige, Jon Bellion and The Beach Boys, among many others. Tickets are sure to sell like hotcakes, so check out the lineup and claim your seats as soon as you can to enjoy a musical experience like no other.

To view the 2017 Freedom Hill event lineup, visit https://www.palacenet.com/venues-events/freedom-hill-amphitheatre.

Jenna Russell is a summer intern for the Macomb County Department of Planning and Economic Development. She is a senior at Oakland University.

This entry was posted in culture, entertainment, events, Freedom Hill, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

